भारतीय प्रौद्योगिकी संस्थान  (भारतीय खनि विद्यापीठ), धनबाद

उत्तिष्ठत जाग्रत प्राप्य वरान्निबोधत



Prof. D. C. Panigrahi 

Prof. D. C. Panigrahi obtained his B. Tech in Mining Engineering in 1984 , M. Tech in Mining Engineering in 1990, M. Tech in Industrial Engineering and Management in 1992 and Ph. D in Mining Engineering in 1994 from Indian School of Mines, Dhanbad. He served as Assistant Manager in coal mines of Tata Iron and Steel Company Limited for a period of 3½ years, as Scientist in erstwhile Central Mining Research Institute, Dhanbad, a CSIR lab., for a period of 4½ years and subsequently joined as Assistant Professor in the Department of Mining Engineering, ISM, Dhanbad in 1992. In 1998 he was promoted to Professor in Mining Engineering. He was the Chairman, IIT Joint Entrance Examination during 2004-2007 from ISM, Dhanbad. He was Head, Department of Mining Engineering, Indian school of Mines, Dhanbad from 2007 to 2010. He took over as the Director, Indian school of Mines, Dhanbad on 9th September 2011.

He specializes in mine ventilation, mine fire control, coal bed methane and other areas related to underground mine environmental engineering. He has executed 14 major research projects as Project Leader and Coordinator. He has published 124 research papers in the areas of mine ventilation, coal bed methane and subsurface mine environmental engineering. He has edited a book containing 64 papers of reputed authors from 9 countries and the book has been published by A. A. Balkema, Rotterdam, Netherlands in 2001. He has edited his second book containing 100 papers from reputed authors of 14 countries and the book has been published by Science Publishers of USA in 2009. He has guided 10 students for their Ph. D degree and 12 students for their M.Tech degree in Mining Engineering. He has successfully executed more than 333 industry sponsored major projects as Project Leader and Coordinator for solving the real life problems of 50 different organizations. Prof. Panigrahi has designed the ventilation system for most of the complex coal, metal and also uranium mines of the country up to a depth of 1.2 km from the surface.

Prof Panigrahi was nominated as one of the 11 members of the International Mine Ventilation committee representing 11 leading mineral producing countries of the world in 1997, viz. USA, Canada, Australia, South Africa, UK, Germany, Japan, France, China and India. He was also elected as the Chairman of the same committee for the duration 2009-14. He has been an honorary member of International Bureau of Mining Thermophysics since 1997 and is a member of International Advisory Board for the Journal Archives of Mining Sciences published by Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland since 2002. He was invited to chair technical sessions in 7th & 10th International Mine Ventilation Congresses in Poland and South Africa. He has received the certificate of appreciation in recognition for contributions to India Education Abroad in 2014 from University of South Florida, USA. He has been nominated as a member of Governing Body and General Body of National Institute of Rock Mechanics, Kolar Gold Fields, Karnataka; member of Governing Council of Association of Indian Universities, New Delhi; member of Executive Council of Central University of Jharkhand under Ministry of Human Resource Development, Govt. of India; Chairman of Sectoral Innovation Council of Occupational Safety and Health of the Ministry of Labour and Employment under the National Innovation Council constituted by the Prime Minister of India; member of the Section 12 Committee under Mines Act constituted by Ministry of Labour and Employment, Govt. of India for formulating Rules and Regulations on safety and health in the Mining and Mineral Sector of the country; member of Mentor Council for Mining and Mineral Sector of the country to bridge the burgeoning gap faced by the Indian economy under the Ministry of Labour and Employment, Govt. of India. He is also a member of PERC (Project Evaluation and Review Committee) and SSAG (Standing Scientific Advisory Group) of Ministry of Mines, Govt. of India. He was also appointed as a member of the expert committee for studying the problems leading to a mine disaster in New Kenda Mine in 1994 in which 55 persons had died and he had also been chosen by the Ministry of Coal as a member of the Expert Committee for Anjan Hill Mine Disaster in 2010 in which 14 persons had died and 34 persons seriously injured.

For his significant contributions and distinguished services to the mining industry in India, he has been conferred several awards by Govt. of India, Industry, Professional Bodies etc. some of them are:

1. National Mineral Award – 1998 by the Ministry of Mines and Minerals, Govt. of India;
2. S.S.B. Memorial Award – 2005 by ISM, Dhanbad;
3. ASPIRE recognition by Tata Steel Limited in 2005;
4. National Design Award-2012 at Vigyan Bhawan during 27th Indian Engineering Congress by National Design and Research Forum of Institution of Engineers (India);
5. Eminent Mining Engineer award during 23rd National Convention of Mining Engineers at Kolkata in 2012;
6. Indian Mining Engineering Journal Golden Jubilee Award - 2012 for his contribution in the field of Mining Education & Research;
7. Debadutta Memorial Best Academic Management Excellence Award for the year 2011-12 on 22nd May, 2012 during National Technology Day Celebration of the Indian Mineral Industry Journal at Bhubaneswar, Odisha;
8. State Bank of India (SBI) Best Researcher Award of the year 2011-12 for receiving the highest funding through R&D and Industry Sponsored Projects (presented during the Convocation of Indian School of Mines, Dhanbad on 23rd February, 2013);
9. Gopabandhu Memorial Shield for securing 1st position of the University in Intermediate Science in 1979.